Posted by: adventlife | June 25, 2012

CAN WE RELY ON THE ELECTIVE ABORTION INFORMATION COMING FROM THE GENERAL CONFERENCE? By Nic Samojluk

The recent revelations made by Patricia Moleski, an Adventist whistleblower, regarding the criminal doctoring of hospital records at our Adventist Health System [AHS] forces us to wonder whether we can rely on the accuracy and reliability of the information coming out of the General Conference regarding what is taking place in our hospitals [GC].

If the president of the GC relies on the record kept by the AHS, and if such record is routinely altered by the deletion of adverse events taking place in our Adventist hospitals, then how can we trust on what the GC president says about anything connected with our medical institutions? He can be honest and truthful, but if he is fed false information, then his credibility is damaged.

If an honest man draws water from a well which has been contaminated by someone, his honesty will not miraculously make the water safe for drinking.

In the event you have not heard about Patricia Moleski’s claim, let me suggest that you take the time to watch the video she recorded for our benefit in which she relates her experience while working for the AHS until she was fired for refusing to follow orders to delete the true cause of deaths of several patients. Here is the link for the video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F91hN9nR1KA

Can we rely on what Ted Wilson said regarding elective abortions?

On February 21, 2011, Ted Wilson, the president of the Adventist Church, publicly declared in the City of Redlands, California, that the church does not condone elective abortions, and that if any such non-therapeutic procedures are done, they are against church policy; and he added that this kind of abortions are so insignificant that they are “almost down to zero.”

I was greatly surprised when I heard this assertion. The reason is very simple: I was on the verge of publishing the result of my investigation into the liberal attitude of the Adventist Church towards abortion, and if what Ted Wilson stated was correct, then I needed to verify the accuracy of said information. The statistics I had accumulated up to that point diametrically contradicted whatWilsonhad affirmed.

A request for help ignored by the General Conference

I was willing to postpone the publication of my book if needed so that I could incorporate the latest statistics provided by the church. When the Redlands meeting was over, I asked Wilson for assistance. I requested help with the securing of statistics verifying the fact that elective abortions were in fact “almost down to zero.” He suggested that I write to Dr. Handysides at the GC. I did, but got no response. I followed this up with another letter plus a letter to Ted Wilson. Over a year has gone by and I am still waiting for a response.

Given my urgency to publish my book, I searched for other sources for abortion statistics in Adventist hospitals and located a public entity with the help of a pro-life friend. Said data seemed to tell a different story. Looking back, I am glad the people at the GC ignored my request for statistics. Had I received such data from them, I would have ended with false information I could not rely on. Knowing how records at our AHS are allegedly doctored and falsified on a routine basis, I can only thank the GC for stonewalling me.

DOCUMENTED FACTS RELATED TO ELECTIVE ABORTIONS IN OUR ADVENTIST HOSPITALS

There are certain facts which are undeniable since they have been documented by our own experts and which have been published in our periodicals such as our official “Ministry” magazine, “Spectrum,” “Adventist Today,” and Adventist books in print. In addition, some of said facts have been also published in well known media outlets like the “Washington Post.”

Fact Number One: We Adventists have led in the legalization of abortion in theUnited States of America. We started offering elective abortion services to our hospital patients back in 1970—three years before the practice of abortion was legalized in our mainland. If you have any doubt, you can verify this by accessing the sources listed below.

References

George Gainer, Letters Ministry (May 1988): 27.

George Gainer, ““The Wisdom of Solomon”?” Spectrum 19/4 (May 1989): 38-46.

George Gainer, “Abortion: History of Adventist Guidelines” Ministry (Aug. 1991): 11-17.

Fact Number Two: The following Adventist hospitals did participate in the offeringf abortions services to their patients:

“Castle Medical Center, Hadley Memorial Hospital, Hanford Community Hospital, Loma Linda University Medical Center, Porter Memorial Hospital, Port land Adventist Medical Center, Shady Grove Adventist Hospital, Shawnee Mission Medical Center, Sierra Vista Hospital, Walla Walla General Hospital, Washington Adventist Hospital, and White Memorial Medical Center.”

Reference: http://www.ministrymagazine.org/archive/1991/August/abortion-history-of-adventist-guidelines

Fact Number Three:

At least five Adventist hospitals reported that they were offering elective abortions on demand.

Reference: Gerald R. Winslow, “Abortion Policies in Adventist Hospitals” Spectrum 19/4 (May 1989): 47-50.

Fact Number Four: TheAdventistChurch does not condone abortions on demand, but has granted our Adventist hospitals the freedom to do so with impunity. My view is that this is similar to the behavior of Pilate who declared that Jesus was innocent of any crime but granted immunity to those who were determined to have him executed.

ABORTION STATISTICS FROM INDEPENDENT PUBLIC ENTITIES

What follows is a summary of statistics showing the number of reported abortions performed in our WashingtonAdventistHospitallocated in the State of Maryland, and let’s keep in mind the fact that Adventist operates over fifty hospitals in the U.S.mainland. These statistics were supplied by the following non-Adventist, independent organization: The Maryland Health Services Cost Review Commission.

1992: 547

1993: 287 from January through June [half a year] which gives us an estimated 574/year

2006: 47

2007: 48

2008:36

2009: 27

2010: 29

2011: 30

The mysterious sudden drop in the number of reported abortion 

How can we explain the enigmatic drop in the number of abortions for the 2006 through 2011 years? What I discovered was that starting with the 2006 year the number of impatient abortion cases were no longer included. Why? I purchased the 2011 copy of the American Hospital Association Guide which used to list the names of hospital performing abortions and found out that this information was no longer included either.

Can we conclude that this sudden drop in the number of abortions in our
Adventist hospitals has been drastically reduced? Given Patricia Moleski’s claim regarding the routine deletion of adverse events from their patient’s and employees’ records, I conclude that we cannot trust the information contained therein. Their information seemed to have been compromised on a grand scale, which means that we can no longer rely on what we hear being asserted about elective abortions coming from the General Conference.

If you disagree, share with me your reasons for your opinion.

Responses

  1. This morning I posted the following message for Patricia Moleski on the Adventist Today forum dealing with this issue. I hope she sees it, since she has posted a lot of documentation on said blog.

    “Patricia Moleski,

    I did read the document you have posted with great interest and I do appreciate your willingness to do what is right regardless of the consequences. I hope and pray that you may be granted a fair trial by the legal system. I have been trying to find a way of contacting you for a different reason which is related to the AHS.

    I have invested a fortune in time and financial resources into the investigation of our Adventist involvement with the abortion industry, and my doctoral dissertation was focused on this issue. I found undeniable evidence that the Adventist Church did allow some of our Adventist hospitals to offer elective abortions to their patients for many years with impunity. Ted Wilson claims that this is no longer the case, and I wonder whether he is well informed. If our AHS records are not reliable, as you have discovered and if adverse events are sometimes deleted, could it be that our records of abortions on demand are also compromised?

    I realize that this is a side issue which should be treated elsewhere; therefore, could you contact me by Email perhaps? My personal Email address is nicsamojluk@rpoadrunner.com. If this is not acceptable, then could you contact me through my web site? I did post your video there. The link is: “CAN WE RELY ON THE ELECTIVE ABORTION INFORMATION COMING FROM THE GENERAL CONFERENCE?”

    https://adventlife.wordpress.com/2012/06/25/can-we-rely-on-the-elective-abortion-information-coming-from-the-general-conference-by-nic-samojluk/”


Leave a Reply

Categories

Advent Life Books

The best books should be free--like air and water!

KEEPLIFELEGAL

EXPOSING THE ABORTION AGENDA FROM THE PULPIT, ON THE SIDEWALK, IN THE MEDIA & AT THE STATEHOUSE.

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

Confessions of a Teenage Runaway

My Voice... My Story...

Advent Life

Focusing on Life

