Posted by: adventlife | September 7, 2015

Positive Reinforcements, by Nic Samojluk

positive reinforcement 3
.
Being a pro-lifer while surrounded by pro-choice Adventists is not easy, especially if you take your pro-life ministry seriously. It is like swimming against the current. For this reason, every time a positive reinforcement comes in the mail, the experience is like arriving at an oasis in the desert. I want to share with you three such communications I received from my personal correspondents:

*******

Hi Nic,

I read with interest your book Murder in Paradise. More and more I congratulate you for the effort, particularly the researched quotations and your response to them.

If this volume does not awaken the powers’ awareness on the subject nothing will. Your effort deserves consideration and respect..

The church is not a sincere market of ideas and/or interpretations regarding doctrines, and on your subject, they have chosen illogic ways to arrive to unreasonable conclusions.

I remember in the times of Desmond Ford, regarding the Colorado meetings, somebody from the GC told me: “I have not studied what Ford says, but I am against it, it cannot be true”

Years passed by, and today you are being told the same thing by the non-response of the same powers: “Don’t give me facts about the issue of abortion and the biblical position; don’t give me facts that disagree with our position, just simply tell me what I want to hear”. Same nonsense, again and again.

It is with pain in my heart that I am writing this letter to you, because I do know your intellectual honesty as well as your respect for truth and what is right.

I personally wish that your crusade for human love and respect for the unborn will prevail.

With my best wishes,

Prof. Carlo Rasi, JD, LLM, PhD,
Univeresity of British Columbia

*********

Nic, God bless you (and everybody else reading this) for your efforts regarding life. I’ve been fighting this battle for 30 years and it’s been kind of lonely, except for faithful friends like George Gainer and David Newman. We at Ministry magazine fought so hard in 1992 at the GC Annual Council, both by putting out a special pro-life issue of Ministry (Sept. 92) and on the floor as delegates. Our efforts utterly failed, but at least we did our best for God.

Martin Weber

*********

Dear Nic & Marta,

Thank you for your email regarding the sensitive subject of abortion. While I am not able to speak for the denomination on this subject, there are thousands who share your commitment. I personally believe all life is precious, a sacred gift from God. All babies are to be protected from the moment of conception. I have never been present for a discussion on this subject in any capacity, and I am not sure this is on the agenda for discussion at the upcoming GC Session, but I will forward your message to the General Conference presidents office. Keep in prayer for God to move Adventism in the right direction in all things, including this subject.

Sincerely,

Ricardo ………

*********
“Nic, I can’t thank you enough! My pro-life project is also your pro-life project, which is also God’s pro-life project. As the creator, lover, and sustainer of all life, I know He hears our prayers and is answering them even now. “Do not despise these small beginnings, for the Lord rejoices to see the work begin…”” (Zechariah 4:10, NLT)

[John Bockmann]

More: https://www.facebook.com/john.bockmann/posts/10100635051404088?comment_id=10100660872727948&offset=0&total_comments=70

Leave a Reply

Categories

Advent Life Books

The best books should be free--like air and water!

KEEPLIFELEGAL

EXPOSING THE ABORTION AGENDA FROM THE PULPIT, ON THE SIDEWALK, IN THE MEDIA & AT THE STATEHOUSE.

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

Confessions of a Teenage Runaway

My Voice... My Story...

Advent Life

Focusing on Life

