Posted by: adventlife | November 17, 2015

What Donald Trump Doesn’t Know About Ben Carson’s faith, by Nic Samojluk

Carson's church

A Few Quotes from U.S.A Today:

“In what might well be a “dog whistle” statement aimed at alienating evangelical Christian voters in Iowa who like Dr. Ben Carson, real estate magnate Donald Trump last Saturday delivered a oblique judgment of the neurosurgeon’s faith:

“I’m Presbyterian, boy, that’s down the middle of the road, folks, in all fairness. I mean, Seventh-day Adventist, I don’t know about. I just don’t know about.” …

But the church of Carson’s choice — and, since 1999, mine — has already touched the lives of multiple millions, even if they don’t realize it. …

Did you have cereal for breakfast? Thank W.K. Kellogg, who along with his brother, physician John Harvey Kellogg, adopted health principles promoted by Ellen G. White, a pioneering co-founder of the Adventist movement. …

Do you know an infant who received a heart transplant? You can credit Dr. Leonard Bailey, a surgeon at Loma Linda University Medical Center in California for research that made such procedures better. …

Loma Linda University Medical Center also led out in proton therapy for prostate cancer, saving an untold number of lives. …

The Adventist lifestyle, which encourages abstinence from alcohol, tobacco, caffeine and meat, is credited with extending lifespan. …

What Donald Trump doesn’t know about Seventh-day Adventism could perhaps fill a book or two. …”

More: http://www.usatoday.com/story/opinion/2015/10/26/seventh-day-adventist-trump-carson-column/74647308/

Additional Facts Trump Probably Doesn’t Know About Carson’s Faith

In addition to the items enumerated by the USA Today I would like to add the following facts Donald Trump may not know about Carson’s faith:

A. In 1970 the Adventist Church abandoned the pro-life stance on abortion instituted by Dr. Kellogg and the Adventist pioneers and embraced the pro-choice position that favors the practice of killing of innocent unborn children under a variety of circumstances, including when the pregnancy is the result of rape, when there is evidence of malformation in the developing baby, and when the unwanted pregnancy begins to affect the “mental health” of the pregnant female.

Ref.: http://www.adventist.org/en/information/official-statements/guidelines/article/go/0/abortion/

B. The Adventist guidelines on abortion opened the door for elective abortions. Notice the following declaration published a couple of decades later by a leading Adventist magazine:

“So what is the truth about Adventism and abortion? Is abortion on demand the norm for Adventist health institutions? On this question M. C. Midkiff said, “I believe if you do a bit of research you will find that the majority of Adventist hospitals permit abortion on request.”  … [Emphasis supplied]

Ref.: https://www.ministrymagazine.org/archive/1991/08/abortion-history-of-adventist-guidelines

C. Even today the Adventist Health System, which controls the operation of a large number of Adventist hospitals, follows the abortion guidelines referenced above. This fact was confirmed to me by email not long ago:

“Hi Nic –
Regarding your request for our policy/practice regarding termination of pregnancy:
Adventist Health System is dedicated to the preservation of life and the welfare of every human being that is cared for in our hospitals. When a situation requires the termination of pregnancy be considered, we follow the guidelines set forth by the General Conference of Seventh-day Adventists.

Melanie”

D. In order to make room for abortion in Adventist medical institutions, our Loma Linda University abandoned the abortion prohibition found in the Hippocratic Oath and replaced it with the following statement found in its Physician’s Oath:

“I will maintain the utmost respect for human life. I will not use my medical knowledge contrary to the laws of humanity. I will respect the rights and decision of my patients.”

Ref.: https://adventlife.wordpress.com/2013/01/20/has-loma-linda-university-altered-the-hippocratic-oath-by-nic-samojluk/

The Need for a Full Disclosure

Some individuals have suggested to me that it is wrong to disclose serious defects connected with the doctrinal teachings of our church. I disagree! I first learned the importance of full disclosure when I applied for a Real Estate License many decades ago. I was instructed that I had the ethical duty to share with potential buyers physical defects of the property I was showing and that my real estate license could be in jeopardy in the event I failed in this duty.

My question is: Should Adventist pastors and evangelists be free from a similar duty to disclose known doctrinal errors connected with the Adventist Church to interested individuals who were considering joining the church by baptism?

I used to give Bible studies to non-Adventists when I was younger. Could I do this today with a clear conscience and inform interested individuals that our Adventist Church teaches that we believe in the permanence and validity of God’s Ten Commandment when I know that this is a false claim?

How could I do this knowing that the Sixth Commandment has been modified and replaced by our “Guidelines on Abortion”? I have written to the General Conference asking why our Adventist hospitals have been offering abortion services to their patients. The response I received was: “Read our abortion guidelines.”

Suppose I am giving a Bible study to an interested individual and I am asked why we believe in abortion, could I give this kind of response? Should I not use the Bible to justify our doctrinal beliefs? Isn’t this what we do when someone asks us why we worship on the biblical Sabbath?

Our “Guidelines on Abortion” is a human document. Can we base our beliefs on human tradition instead of a “Thus said the Lord”? My hope and my prayer is that our church will repent of this departure from moral duty.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Advent Life Books

The best books should be free--like air and water!

KEEPLIFELEGAL

EXPOSING THE ABORTION AGENDA FROM THE PULPIT, ON THE SIDEWALK, IN THE MEDIA & AT THE STATEHOUSE.

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

Confessions of a Teenage Runaway

My Voice... My Story...

Advent Life

Focusing on Life

